The right to freedom of movement is a universal right which guarantees that the citizen of a state may, provided she has the proper documentation, freely leave the country, travel where she is welcome and return to her country at any time. Equally, or perhaps even more important is that this right includes the citizen’s right to travel, stay and/or
work in any part of the state without the state’s interference.1 The EU further developed the concept of free movement of the citizen with the development of the Schengen Zone.2 In the Schengen Zone, the citizens of 22 EU countries3, as well as those of Norway, Switzerland and Iceland can move freely with only a passport or ID, in addition to having the right to stay, live, work and study within the EU. For European citizens, this was one of the major assets of European integration.